Mary J. Blige Receives Icon Award From Janet Jackson at 2022 BBMAs — Watch

1.1k shares, 81 points
Mary J. Blige Receives Icon Award From Janet Jackson at 2022 BBMAs — Watch

Mary J. Blige‘s icon standing was made official on the 2022 Billboard Music Awards.

The Energy E book II: Ghost star was honored with the BBMAs’ coveted Icon Award throughout Sunday’s ceremony on NBC.

And who higher to obtain such a title? Blige boasts an unbelievable 10-for-10 file on the BBMAs, having received each trophy for which she has ever been nominated, together with Feminine Artist of the Yr in 2006.

“The best way the world is now, I believe folks suppose icons are born that approach, that they turn into a legend in a single day,” Blige started. “However that’s positively not the case. It takes a whole lot of time, laborious work, and a whole lot of surviving trial and error to attain greatness. Being an icon to me means overcoming obstacles to perform the unthinkable and being wildly admired for having an affect over a mess of individuals — and that’s what I’ve all the time represented.”

The truth that Janet Jackson made a uncommon TV look to current Blige with the award was merely the cherry on high of this musical sundae. “You have been all the time one among our largest inspirations rising up,” Blige instructed her.

Watch footage of Jackson’s look under, which we’ll replace with official video when it turns into accessible:

Current recipients of the BBMAs’ Icon Award embody Pink (2021), Garth Brooks (2020), Mariah Carey (2019), Janet Jackson (2018), Cher (2017) and Celine Dion (2016). Icons, all.

Along with Blige, this yr’s line-up of performers additionally contains Becky G, Burna Boy, Dan + Shay, Ed Sheeran, Elle King, Florence + the Machine, Latto, Machine Gun Kelly, Maxwell, Megan Thee Stallion, Miranda Lambert, Morgan Wallen, Rauw Alejandro, Silk Sonic and Travis Scott. The Purple Scorching Chili Peppers have been initially scheduled to carry out, however the band needed to again out “resulting from unexpected circumstances” lower than per week earlier than the large present.

There are additionally huge names stepping as much as the rostrum at hand out trophies. This yr’s checklist of presenters contains Anthony Anderson, Anitta, Chloe Bailey, Dixie D’Amelio, DJ Khaled, Dove Cameron, Giveon, Heidi Klum, Liza Koshy, Michael Bublé, Pusha T, Teyana Taylor and Tiffany Haddish.

As for the precise awards, The Weeknd led the pack this yr, getting into the ceremony with a whopping 17 nominations. Doja Cat adopted intently behind with 14 nominations, whereas Justin Bieber, Kanye West and Olivia Rodrigo all obtained 13 nods.

Like it? Share with your friends!

1.1k shares, 81 points


Your email address will not be published.